Everything is Lost

Last Thursday I turned on the laptop computer that I use at work which additionally holds some tons of my personal photographs. Nothing.

I spent the next morning, 6 hours, on the phone with a computer tech who tried everything only to decide the hard drive was fried. Five years worth of correspondence, financial files, photos, etc. were gone.  Completely gone.

I also use an old desktop computer which runs extremely slowly that I’m going to have to do my work on until the new hard drive and external hard drive arrive.

I’ll be looking for a computer genius to see if any of my files can be resurrected.  I don’t know too much about computers. They’re like cars for me: I know how to drive one; I can’t fix it.

Speaking of cars remember when I told you my son’s car had been stolen? Well, it’s finally been recovered and can be removed from the impound lot for $140 since it had been reported stolen (otherwise it would have cost much, much more). The problem is that the car can no longer be started with a key since the thieves hot wired the ignition. Again, I don’t really know what I’m talking about, just that it’s another costly hassle.

In the meantime I borrowed my son’s laptop to download some photographs for this week’s posts. They also completely disappeared from the computer after I had deleted them from my camera.  I feel like an electronic gremlin is in my business and just waiting to irritate me.

I’d like to say that I love technology but really I love things to go well. Right now things electronic are not going well.  Maybe this is a learning situation for me or maybe just a test of my patience.  We’ll see.

What tests your patience?

Sidebar:  This is my first post with no photographs whatsoever.

Leave a Reply

