One Dish Meal from Better Homes and Gardens

I rarely try a new recipe other than those I concoct myself from foods we have on hand. The main thing that determines whether I’ll make a recipe that I see in a book or magazine is “Do I have all (or most) of the ingredients?”  Well August’s Better Homes and Gardens magazine has a recipe for which I had everything necessary.

The magazine’s serving suggestion.

Grilled Chicken and Peaches with Green Beans and Orzo

  • 8 oz dried orzo (1-1/3 cups) (I used half of package)
  • 8 oz green beans (about 2-1/2 cups) (I didn’t measure these.)
  • 1 lb chicken tenders (Our package was 1-1/2 lbs.)
  • 2 peaches, cut in wedges (We used 3 peaches.)
  • 2 Tbsp. olive oil (I didn’t measure.)
  • 4 oz feta cheese (Also didn’t measure.)
  • Fresh thyme

    Fresh picked lemon thyme from the herb bed.

We used the team approach to prepare the food.  I worked the kitchen while Charlie manned the grill. Charlie picked some French filet green beans from the garden while I cut some fresh thyme.

Add the beans to the orzo with about 5 minutes left to cook.

No need to dirty 2 pots: cook the beans and orzo together and drain well.

Beans and orzo are ready for the platter.

I prepared the orzo and green beans while Charlie grilled the peaches and chicken tenderloins.

Charlie grilled the olive-oiled chicken and peaches keeping them separated.

Grill everything for 4 to 6 minutes until you can see the grill marks and the chicken is fully cooked.

The chicken and peaches grill quickly.

The recipe called for tossing everything together in a large bowl but I opted to lay it out on a platter and top it with chopped thyme and feta cheese.

Grilled chicken and peaches over a bed of orzo and green beans topped with feta, thyme and a drizzle of olive oil.

The next time we make this (and we will) I’ll forego the salt and add a little teriyaki sauce. This recipe would be good using other stone fruits (plums, nectarines, apricots), substituting rice for the orzo and other vegetables for the beans. A very versatile recipe.

Do you try new recipes? Are you a tweaker?

Sidebar: from Better Homes and Garden’s website:

Nutrition Facts (Grilled Chicken & Peaches With Green Beans & Orzo)

  • Servings Per Recipe 4,
  • Calories 526,
  • Protein (gm) 38,
  • Carbohydrate (gm) 55,
  • Fat, total (gm) 17,
  • Cholesterol (mg) 93,
  • Saturated fat (gm) 5,
  • Monosaturated fat (gm) 6,
  • Polyunsaturated fat (gm) 2,
  • Dietary Fiber, total (gm) 5,
  • Sugar, total (gm) 10,
  • Vitamin A (IU) 632,
  • Vitamin C (mg) 13,
  • Thiamin (mg) 1,
  • Riboflavin (mg) 0,
  • Niacin (mg) 17,
  • Pyridoxine (Vit. B6) (mg) 1,
  • Folate (µg) 161,
  • Cobalamin (Vit. B12) (µg) 0,
  • Sodium (mg) 604,
  • Potassium (mg) 810,
  • Calcium (DV %) 40,
  • Iron (DV %) 3,
  • Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet
2 responses to “One Dish Meal from Better Homes and Gardens

  1. I made this tonight and used the team approach as well. We enjoyed it and it was quick and easy to make. Like you, I like the recipe because it’s very easy to make substitutions. We used chicken breasts because that’s what was on hand. Also like you, I didn’t measure most of my ingredients either!

Leave a Reply

