Cloche and Plate

Our church has a table in the social hall where anybody can put anything for 2 weeks. If in that time anybody sees something he/she likes, just take it. Charlie and I have both helped ourselves in the past.

I took a lovely ceramic flower pot and saucer here.

Found this on the free table.

This week I found a small glass dome over a dish with a rim that holds the dome in place.

This tiny cloche and plate set is about 4 inches in diameter and 4 inches tall.

I asked some of the other women if they knew specifically for what this pair had been used. They suggested butter or cheese.

With the plate flipped over there’s a taller base and a smaller lip inside the cloche.

We all agreed that these to pieces were not originally a pair: the plate is kind of chunky and the cloche a finer quality glass.

A Limoges dolphin under glass.

I’m sure it’s too tiny for pheasant under glass but perhaps I might know a smaller bird tiny sea mammal that would like to nest here for a time.

A tiny treasure.

Don’t forget it was free, free, free.

What do you keep under glass?

3 responses to “Cloche and Plate

  1. John, "Your bona fide chef!"

    under glass today – well canning jars is Bruschetta Topping. Last year towards the end of canning season I was delivered by Charlie an abundance of Basil & Tomatoes, after my usual recipes for canning I still had leftovers, so I made a concoction of chopped, peeled tomatoes, chopped basil and Balsamic Vinegar.

    My intent was to use it on bread croutoins topped with Parmesan chees

  2. These sets (cloche and plate) are quite common (and cheap) in the Caucasus region… mainly Georgia. They are used for jam (preserves) that are served with tea. Aren’t they lovely?

Leave a Reply

