The Guacamole Kit

Trader Joe’s sells a guacamole kit. It has everything needed to make a fresh bowl of guacamole.

Trader Joe’s Guacamole Kit sells for $3.99.

Included are 2 ripe avocados, 2 plum tomatoes, 1 small white onion, 1 large clove of garlic, 1 jalapeno pepper, and 1 lime.

Contents of Trader Joe’s guacamole kit with instructions.

The instructions (included in each kit) say to finely mince the garlic, onion and pepper, then add the cubed avocado and mash into the diced veg with a fork. Some people like it chunky and some like it smooth so the mashing depends on your own aesthetic.

I like chunky bits in my guacamole. They might have been more finely minced if our electricity had been working and I would have used our veg chopper.

The key to keeping it green (avocado turns brown quickly) is to add the juice of the lime which I squeezed on our super deluxe old-fashioned juicer.

Our citrus fruit juicer: great for limes, lemons, oranges and grapefruit.

I added the diced tomatoes from the kit last and folded them into the mixture. Your could whir the whole this in a blender if you like it smooth. Some folks add cilantro (I’m not a big fan) or salt and pepper. I thought it tasted fine except it was a little tart so I added a sprinkle of sugar.

Guacamole ready for a serving bowl.

I like my guacamole on a tortilla with a little grilled chicken and cheese, or by itself on a chip.  And I think it’s really good for you in a healthy way.

How are you celebrating America’s independence? Enjoy your freedom!

Leave a Reply

