Noteworthy Desk

Yesterday I showed you a before-and-after of an old brown desk which I painted black but the real twist is on the sides and back.

A surprise musical motif on an newly painted desk.

I have been planning to paint this Pennsylvania House desk black for a long time.

The desk among other junk in the Cottage.

With Charlie’s help I prepped the desk for painting here. With all of the drawers running smoothly and everything sanded and wiped down with mineral spirits I was ready to paint.

All the drawers fit.

Next comes the fun part of putting on the final finish. Black is the color and I decided to use a combination of brush on paint and spray paint. The black paint is Rustoleum Decorator’s Choice Semigloss black.  (This paint also comes in flat and high gloss.) I also bought a can of white spray enamel in satin finish.

White satin spray paint and black semi-gloss.

I masked off most of the desk and sprayed the band around the sides and back white.

The top and sides of the desk are masked with blue tape and paper towels.

When the white was totally dry I taped that area off and rolled the black semigloss over the entire desk and the drawer fronts using a small foam roller.  When necessary a brush was used on the crevasses.

Many light coats of paint turn a brown desk into a black desk.

Beginning at the center back I laid out a piano keyboard on the white border first in pencil with a small stencil I had designed and cut.

I cut a stencil from a plastic page protector and taped it to the desk to use as a guide for the black keys.

I outlined the pencil marks with a black Sharpie then filled them in with a small brush and black semi-gloss paint.

The black keys needed about 3 coats of paint.

Once everything was painted I waxed the desk with clear paste wax.

Everything was waxed and polished with paste wax.

Charlie attached the brass drawer pulls that I had rescued here.

A sturdy black desk with vintage brass drawer pulls and a surprise.

This would be a great desk to sit facing into a room.

I’m sure this desk would be a great conversation starter.

Ta-da! Play me a little tune, will ya, huh?

What’re you singing lately?

I’m linked to

My Uncommon Slice of Suburbia
Leave a Reply

