How Does Your Garden Grow?

My mother’s nickname for me was Mary, Mary Quite Contrary so naturally I prefer to use my middle name, Jo. And at The Glade it’s not my garden but Charlie’s that does the growing.

What are you growing there?

The garden was mostly destroyed by Hurricane Irene last August.

The 15-square garden was demolished by falling oak trees in August, 2011.

Since then Charlie has rebuilt 16 squares using recycled lumber and compost from his compost bins.

Sixteen 4′ by 4′ squares in the 2012 Potager at the end of March

Now it looks a lot like a class in the Marx School for the Harp. Trellises are strung to carry beans and cucumbers to altitudes that will necessitate a ladder for picking.

The potager in the middle of May.

So the potager at The Glade is grrroooooowwing.

The potager at the end of May.

And with God’s blessing it will produce an abundant harvest.

What musical instruments do you play?

I’m linked to

4 responses to “How Does Your Garden Grow?

  1. What a great deal of storm damage you all sustained, but how gorgeous and lush your beautiful garden is now–you have obviously done a huge amount of work to return it to its glory–well done! My musical instrument is my voice, but I can play a little bit of guitar and banjo, and a tiny bit of piano. My wonderful and talented hubby is the multi-instrumental one many times over–he can pretty much pick up any instrument that crosses his path and play it.

  2. You have recovered so well…after many hours of hard work I am sure. Looks like everything is growing so well! Beautiful to look at too. Stopping by from the Tuesday Garden Party.

  3. I love the comeback! Thanks for sharing!

  4. Beautiful I will be back to see your progress!

Leave a Reply

