The Glade a la Carte: Master Suite

I met with our architect who showed me two different sets of plans for the renovation to The Glade. I liked both of them.  The best part is I don’t have to choose one or the other, I can mix and match, one from column A two from column B, an a la carte menu.

Currently the second floor at The Glade looks like this.

2nd Floor Plan

 Plan “A” is a more compact version and Plan “B”, while not overwhelming in scale, is a bit larger.  The layouts, too, are slightly different.

Plan "A" - the small version.

 We’ve decided to keep part of the existing bedroom wall (noted by a dotted line below) on the bathroom side to enlarge it just a bit more.

Plan "B" - more room (not more rooms) than Plan "A"

In today’s post we’re deciding on the master suite features (toward the top of the drawings above). Number 77 on my 101 Things in 1001 Days list is to make the master bedroom a haven for two. In addition to the bedroom, which was always there, we’re adding a master bathroom, a walk-in closet and an uncovered walk-out terrace/porch.   These things were on the original wish list

Looking down the hall from the bathroom to the far bedroom, the doorway on the left will be closed in to become a long wall.

 We’re closing in the bedroom door to the hall and ripping out the built-in closets on either side of the door which encroach on the space in the master bedroom.  We’d like to position the bed against an interior wall looking out the windows which is impossible in the current layout.

The bed is positioned to look out the window (not pictured) between the 2 chairs.

 The new door to the bedroom will be through what is now the window next to the bathroom across from the laundry.

The new door to the bedroom will take the place of this window.

 In the next few weeks I’ll be collecting my thoughts on the walk-in closet.  I have plenty of ideas.  I’m trying not to get carried away. I love this one Sandra from Sawdust and Paper Scraps designed and built.

The terrace/porch on the side of the bedroom over the new conservatory  will be accessed through French doors much like this inspiration shot which I’ve featured many times.

Walk out from the bedroom through French doors. Belle reve!

 I guess that tells you we’ve pretty much decided on a modified Plan “B” for the Master Suite.

There’s so much to consider.  I’m excited. I had a laundry list of requests for this area and every one of them has been addressed.

What’s on your serene haven must-haves list? How’s it coming along?

Leave a Reply

