Mistress of the Master Bath

Now that we have an actual idea of how the master bathroom will be arranged in relation to the bedroom I can begin to think about how it will look. Although the plan below says 11 ft by 7.5 ft, we have added about 3 feet which makes it approximately 14 ft by 7.5 ft.
 

General size of the new bathroom but not necessarily the layout.

 In this bathroom I would like:

    • a place to sit to do my hair and make-up
    • a glass-enclosed shower (no tub)
    • a permanent seat or bench in the shower
    • a single sink in a cabinet (not a pedestal)
    • tall gooseneck spigots
    • lots of storage including linens.
 
 
In the photo above I love the seated vanity area and the tall, stylish storage on the right-hand side that provides both cabinets and shelves.
 
  
 
 Maybe more practical is the seated make-up area placed seamlessly right next to the sink: lots of mirror, lots of counter, near water.
 

Marble and glass shower, marble floor and wainscoat - love it!

Did I mention I’d love a marble basketweave floor.

Source: flickr.com via Jo on Pinterest

 
 
 
 
I hope it’s going to be nice and bright.
 
Tammys Pics traditional bathroom
 
The shower need not be totally glass but I’m tired of the shower curtain and I’ve never been in love with sliding doors on a shower so the more glass the better.  Some might be frosted and some clear.  I’m leaning toward clear at this moment.
 
 
 

I like the built-in bench in the shower above and the hinged glass door.

There’s a nice bench in the shower above and plenty of glass even though the bottom of the shower is framed and solid. This may be more practical.

I’ll talk about fixtures in a future post but we  did discover in France that tall, gooseneck spigots are very convenient.

What’s on your bathroom wish list?

Leave a Reply

