Good Enough for the Garden

We found this old pine bench on the side of the road a number of years ago and have had it in various rooms including the cottage just for a convenient place to sit things (basically a moveable shelf).

Pine bench found on the roadside

 You’ll notice it has a crack in the seat but other than that it’s in good shape. With a little protective coating I thought it might make a convenient place to sit in the garden.

Originally I thought I could just sand it and stain it.

The sander was great for the top but the sides were awkward.

  I took the bench apart and Charlie reattached one of the small leg supports while I sanded and stained the bottom trestle with the same exterior stain as the shed.

The legs and feet of the bench are stained grey.

 Previously I had printed out on the computer the words “The Glade” in a large outlined font.

The copy printed on 3 pieces of paper.

 I scribbled with pencil on the back to create a kind of carbon paper.

Cover all the lines with graphite on the reverse side.

 Tape the letters to the bench and trace over them with a pen which will transfer the graphite to the wood as well as give a shallow indentation in the wood.

Trace firmly over the lines.

 Remove the paper and paint in the logo.  I used Minwax Deep Ocean stain which went on very smoothly with a small brush.

I paint from right to left because I'm left handed.

 After painting on all the lettering .  .  .

"The Glade" painted onto the bench seat.

 Cover the bench seat with brown, oily stain using a rag.

Bench stained with brown over the blue.

 Finally, I outlined the letters with black Sharpie and lightly sanded the top.  Charlie prefers the letters outlined; I do not.

"The Glade" bench is ready for a spot in the garden.

 After the stain is fully dry cover the seat with a coat of protective polyurethane finish.  (The bottom of the bench has exterior stain and needs no further protection.)

Have you started thinking about Spring? Can it come fast enough? Or are you content with winter?

I’m linked to

One response to “Good Enough for the Garden

  1. I love the bench and I just love that you hand painted the top. What a great find. Thanks for sharing at DIYbyDesign.

Leave a Reply

