Turn the Clock

I received this clock and 2 frames as a parting gift from a paint seminar at Budeke’s Paint store.

Brown and green clock about 12 inches diameter

 As you may know, green and brown are not in my palette.  Green is but certainly not brown and probably not polka dots.  I took the clock apart so I could paint the background.

Unscrew the nut from the clock face and pop out the mechanism.

 Then I saw this project on Pinterest and was inspiredby Erica Domesek’s blog.

from the blog P.S. I Made This . . .

This might be a great place to use souvenirs from our trip to France. I had two maps which are pictured below. The bottom one looked a little too much like blodshot eyes so I chose the top one.

Select a map which need NOT be in perfect shape.

 Cut the map of France into a circle a bit larger than the clock face.

I centered Paris which ultimately will be covered by the clock mechanism.

 Mark where the numbers go on the side of the the clock face making special note of the 12.

Mark the edge so you can glue your backround right side up.

 Iron the map by laying down a piece of cloth on your ironing board (just in case anything transfers), then the map and then a piece of cotton cloth.  Iron the map just until it lies flat.  If you iron too long it will become brittle.

Iron the map

 Scuff up the clock by sanding it lightly

Scuff up the surface of the clock to give the glue better holding power.

 and put down a thin layer of spray adhesive on both the clock and the back of the map.

Spray adhesive in a light but complete coat to the front of the clock and the back of the map with special attention to the edges.

 Stick the map to the clock and let it set up for about 5 minutes before trimming the edges with a razor blade.

Using a rag rub the face of the map to assure no air bubbles especially around the edges.

 Lay the edge of the razor blade at a 45 degree angle to the surface and slide around the edge. 

Use a sharp blade!
 
I found some number stencils to help with the time telling and transferred them to the surface with a stencil brush and latex paint filling in the spaces with a detail brush. There are any number of alternatives for numbering: stick-on numbers, draw them, use marks instead of actual numbers, Roman numerals, etc. I only placed numbers at the cardinal points (12, 3, 6, and 9). Perhaps I should have used N, W, S, E instead. Wish I’d have thought of it.

Stencil, draw, apply numbers to the surface.

 Cover the whole thing with 2 layers of Modge Podge, one before numbering and one after.

Modge Podge over the entire surface

 Replace the hands and time mechanism.

Reassembled and ready to hang.

 Have you got things you don’t want to throw away but aren’t quite right for your decor?  Can you modify them?

Head over to Young House Love for the entire Fall Pinterest Challenge.

7 responses to “Turn the Clock

  1. What a neat project, I can’t wait to see!

    What is Modge Podge?

    I first was going to say that I’m not an artist, but then realized my palette to be food. Don’t misunderstand I’m not intending to cover Puff Pastry with Modge Podge!

  2. ModgePodge is something like Elmer’s Glue that leaves a protective finish on a surface. It comes in glossy and matte (I used matte for the clock).
    Jo @ Let’s Face the Music

  3. What a creative and neat idea! I really like it; now I’m looking around for things around here I can play with :)

  4. That is such a great makeover!

  5. What a great idea, I love it!

  6. i have considered putting maps on many things, but never a clock. this is a really project.

Leave a Reply

