Ready to Build the Laundry Closet

As I pointed out here our 2nd floor laundry room needed some updating.  We had already pulled up the old vinyl flooring and exposed some beautiful wood, put white beadboard on the bottom half of the walls, and painted the top of the walls a lovely periwinkle blue.

Corner of laundry leading to the attic.

 We even fixed the door to the attic so it would close all the way.

Now it’s time to complete the installation of a closet to the right of the stacked washer and dryer to utilize a narrow space but deep space in a functional way.

Laundry Closet

 The space is only about 18 inches wide but 32 inches deep to match the depth from the back wall of the washer/dryer.  It’s already partially framed with 2 by 4s. The outside of the closet should be finished with beadboard on the bottom and drywall on the top which will entail moving the stacked appliances out of the way.

The closet is to the right of the stacked washer/dryer.

Since the closet is deep I’d like shelves at the very back to keep seldom used or seasonal bulky items like comforters, blankets, pillows and bedspreads.

Laundry closet rough sketch

 Toward the front should be a hanging pole for things that come out of the dryer and need to be hung immediately.

Possible closet pole installation courtesy of Martha Stewart

 Photo from Martha Stewart.

Ages ago we bought these doors at Second Chance with the idea of using them on the laundry closet we were going to build.

16.75" by 69.75" Pantry door

 And a smaller one for up top.

11.75" by 17.75" Cabinet Door

 Here’s the list of materials:

  1. drywall
  2. drywall screws
  3. drywall mud with putty knife and mud pan

    Mud pan, plastic wood, level, drywall screw drill bits

  4. sandpaper
  5. drill with drywall screw bit
  6. hammer
  7. nails
  8. Shelf hanging brackets
  9. boards for shelves

    6 Boards with white laminate from Second Chance; shelf support system, screws with anchors and clips to use with shelf supports.

  10. 2 x 4s for framing
  11. 5 hinges for doors with screws
  12. doors (pictured above)
  13. chisel or router
  14. plywood or trim for facing
  15. Queen’s Lace semi-gloss paint for wood
  16. Periwinkle paint for drywall
  17. paint bushes and paint pan

My plan of attack would be the following:

  1. Install shelves before drywall so there’s lots of light for installation
  2. Frame rest of closet
  3. Install and paint drywall
  4. Install face trim and doors

It will be soooooo nice to have a closet in the laundry room.  I’m going to begin gathering the materials together today.

My friend told me that my projects seem to have a lot of steps.  It’s true.  Don’t yours?  Have you come across any simple one or two step fixes?  Please clue me in.

One response to “Ready to Build the Laundry Closet

  1. I guess it depends on the individual. I am a list-maker, so I tend to have a lot of steps to my projects. When I post a project or recipe on my blog I also have more steps than I would for myself because I’m teaching others. I think it’s just a matter of preference! I have not come across one or two step fixes! If I did I’d certainly be excited! ;) Keep up the great work! I enjoy your blog!

Leave a Reply

