Sittin’ in the Windah

Thanks to Hilary’s question over at My So-Called Home now is as good a time as any to tell the tale of my windowseat which I would desperately like to finish. This was not a DIY project.  I designed the seat, I bought the cabinets, foam and fabric but my friend Doug (who knows how to do everything) installed the basic seat.  I am making the cushions (and have been for 22 months).

It all started (ahem) 2 3 years ago when I wanted to get rid of my corner cabinet but needed a place for all the dishes I have amassed over the years.

Dining Room at The Glade

The dining room is long and so I decided to put a in a wall-to-wall windowseat.

Doug put in the framing.

2 by 4 framing for window seat cabinets

 On the side wall is an electrical outlet and a heat register.  Another friend blocked half of it and fashioned a duct from an outdoor downspout to direct the warm air through the vent in the window seat.

More outlets and a heat register

 You can see there are electrical outlets that would be behind the cabinets after installation so Doug brought the current out to the front of the base and ultimately installed 2 outlets and covered the toekick with matching veneer.

Electrical outlet in the kickplate.

Four 36-inch wide over-the-refrigerator cabinets (144 inches overall) were used in-line to create the 2-foot deep seat. The entire space is 151 inches so small spacers were added to each end.

The cabinets are a caramel color to match the whitewashed pine paneling.

 A piece of plywood was attached to the top to give the seat a smooth surface.  I painted the plywood and edge trim to match the cabinet color.

The edge under the cushions is plywood.

I searched all around for reasonably priced door pulls and found these dogwood blossoms on sale at a very reasonable price. (I think of the dining room as my dogwood room.)

Dogwood Knobs

The last part of the project involves making cushions for the window seat. 

Windowseat cushion

That takes time, People. Check back because I’m sure someday I’ll finish the cushions. Two down (almost) and one to go.

Sidebar:  Woohoo, I just found my sewing supplies in a plastic bin in the Cottage attic!!?  I was wondering what happened to that stuff and it was holding me up. For sure.

Leave a Reply

