Cornus Florida

Blooming Dogwood at The Glade

 My mother loved the dogwood. She had a silver pin that she wore on a jacket lapel the true size and shape of a dogwood blossom.

Many years ago she sent me six hand-painted plates with dogwood on them.

Dogwood Plates Trio

I had determined that since the dogwood plates my mother gave me were hanging in the dining room, it would be the dogwood room.

Dogwood Plate

When I installed the window seat cabinets, the door knobs I selected are antiqued-gold colored dogwood blossoms.

Dogwood Knobs

I started to collect Stangl’s dogwood pottery dishes. I mostly have serving pieces which I especially like to use in the spring.

Stangl Dogwood Footed Bowl

Here at the Glade we have many white dogwood trees which this year are blossoming profusely. The Floridata website says that dogwood are excellent beneath large oaks which is how they grow at The Glade.

Dogwood Bud at The Glade

 

Newly Open Dogwood Flowers

I do like to take a few blossoms and press them in a book so I can slip them in a birthday card to friends and family who have moved away.

Dogwood - Just Opening

And finally there’s the legend of the dogwood.

Dogwood Blossom

 The Legend of the Dogwood

“When Christ was on earth, the dogwood grew
To a towering size with a lovely hue.
Its branches were strong and interwoven,
And for Christ’s cross its timbers were chosen.

“Being distressed at the use of the wood,
Christ made a promise which still holds good:
‘Never again shall the dogwood grow
To be large enough for a tree, and so,
Slender and twisted it shall always be,
With cross-shaped blossoms for all to see.

“’The petals shall have bloodstains marked brown,
And in the blossom’s center a thorny crown.
All who see it will think of me,
Nailed to a cross from a dogwood tree.
Protected and cherished this tree shall be,
A reflection to all of my agony.’”

Dogwood Trees

 Do you have a favorite flowering tree?  Is it in bloom yet this year?

Leave a Reply

